A reading from the Psalms, chapter 13.

How long, O Lord? Will you forget me forever?
How long will you hide your face from me?
How long must I take counsel in my soul and have sorrow in my heart all the day?
How long shall my enemy be exalted over me?

Consider and answer me, O Lord my God; light up my eyes, lest I sleep the sleep of death,

lest my enemy say, “I have prevailed over him,” lest my foes rejoice because I am shaken.

But I have trusted in your steadfast love; my heart shall rejoice in your salvation.

I will sing to the Lordbecause he has dealt bountifully with me.

Anyone else really relate to that first part? Even the second part. Jeez that’s my story right now. But, even though I’m in the weeds now, the last paragraph still shows up. God hasn’t failed me yet. God will not fail me now. And God will not fail me in the future. But oh mah gawd the in between parts is the worst. The waiting around, watching things fall apart around you while the scaffolding you’ve built up for years trembles as the dust settles. But there’s the last paragraph.

When Jesus goes into the desert immediately following his baptism in Luke 4, he deprives himself of all human interaction, food, water, comfort, or shelter. We’ll be discussing the  importance of fasting next week on the blog, but for now, remember that it’s just Jesus and his thoughts. Then, after his 40 days (which is Bible for “a really freaking long time”) Jesus is tempted by Satan. Jesus is offered food and fame. He is offered a quick fix to save the world without having to die on the cross. Then, when Jesus rejects satan over and over, Satan says “no you are!” and takes his toys and goes home. Jesus then leaves the desert to begin his ministry.

Non related statement; I’m pretty sure my hangry alone thoughts would drive me crazy long before Satan was able to get to me after 40 days.

So timeline review: Jesus get’s baptized (awesome day), Jesus goes into the desert and starves himself for 40 days (aka a really long, bad time), is tempted by Satan (also a really crappy time), and then is liberated from the desert and sent into the world to fulfill his calling (pretty great day).

My point is that for Jesus, the desert lasted much longer than the good days. Do you think Jesus recited Psalm 13 at any point in his 40 days? Do you think Jesus felt like this was all just too much? Or that he couldn’t do it? Maybe. Maybe not. But what I do know is that Jesus is so much stronger than I am, and because of his strength, I can lean on him when I am so incredibly upset and distraught.

But I have trusted in your steadfast love; my heart shall rejoice in your salvation.
I will sing to the Lordbecause he has dealt bountifully with me.

Peace.

