Today, millions of people across 57 countries will join together to march. 

The aim of these marches is to promote equality, diversity and inclusion, in a united response to the rising rhetoric of far-right populism. Women and men from different cultures, religions and classes feel galvanised to stand up for universal values.

But every single individual has at least one personal reason as to why they are marching. 

Today, I’m marching in Austin with over 50,000 brothers and sisters who care deeply about equality, solidarity, inclusion, justice, and love. I am marching along side men, women, and children who believe that above all else, love and hope conquer hate and fear. 

I’m marching for my unborn children, because I need them to grow up in a world where they don’t need to fear being exactly who they will be. 

I’m marching for women everywhere who don’t want the government in their reproductive systems anymore. I’m marching because it’s my body and my rights. As a woman, I deserve more than what is currently being offered. 

I’m marching for my grandmother, the most amazing democrat I’ve ever known who would have never stood for a president who acts so pigheadedly. 

I’m marching for Jenna Webber and all my students and friends with disabilities and special needs. They must be represented and lifted up in a world that continuously tries to put them down and hide them. 

I’m marching for every single one of my LGBTQ friends and family members. Love is love and I will fight hard before I let anyone tell you differently. 

I’m marching for my world, because our climate and our natural resources need protecting and nurturing. 

I’m marching for everyone who believes in people and causes that I do not, because you have just as much right to be active and participate in this world as I do. But I need you to know that there are peaceful and progressive ways to go about believing and actively engaging in our differences. 

I’m marching for our communities of faith, because I believe that they can be communities that promote justice, humility, and love in the world, but I recognize that they are not always safe places. 

I’m marching for every single person of color. While I am devoid of any color but ginger, I firmly believe that not a single person can rest until every person in this world is treated with dignity and respect, regardless of the color of their skin. 

I am marching because I know that my freedom is tied up and bound with the freedom of every single person who has been beaten down by the current systems of government and society. And I will not stand back and let you walk alone. 

In Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.’s speech, “I Have A Dream,” he states that “as we walk, we must make the pledge that we shall march ahead. We cannot turn back.” There’s no going back from yesterdays inauguration. We can only move forward in light of what is happening in the world. It’s up to every single one of us to step forward together, in love and in unity, and move towards a future that promotes justice and mercy on every street corner. 

I am marching today for so many reasons, but I will not stop marching even after the day has ended. 

My amazing friends and myself at the march in Austin this afternoon ❤️

