music-note-5 She’s a warm hearted person who’ll love me till the end music-note-5

For week one of my 2017 blog, I’m going to be talking about my real life MVP, Tara Marie McD.

The first time I saw Tara (not met, saw. I didn’t meet her until much later) was in April of 2001 when we were freshmen and I remember thinking “oh wow, she’s good at this flute thing. She cares way more than I do.” So of course, I immediately didn’t like her. Because 14 year old girls are dumb.

Flash forward to July 2001 and the beginning of band camp. Tara was in the top band and I was resting easy in the second band (because, again, I did NOT care). She was very good. So good, in fact, that they switched her out for the flute solo for the whole marching band show. She replaced a senior who had the solo. A senior we all loved. And yeah the switch came about because of a logistical reason with the drill, but we were all like “Ah hell no.”

But then, after I got to hang out with her a few times (she was best friends with one of my oldest friends, Rhean), I realized that despite her quiet and shy demeanor, she was actually really funny. Sure she was a huge nerd and cared too much about flute, but hey, I could live with that. So we watched Best Little Whore House in Texas and hummed the opener for Exodus (only she and Rhean know that joke and I’m leaving it to die with them) and were friends from then on.

Since 2001, we have traveled together to (at least) 10 states, taken road trips, cruised, flown in an plane that we then immediately jumped out of, been at one another’s sides as we’ve fallen in and out of love with boys, gotten each other really drunk, lived together, fought, cried, laughed, borrowed clothes, worked together, and shared way too much information

Even though we live half a world apart we still talk every day, even if it’s just to say “Hey what’s up?” or “guess what stupid thing I did today?” If there is a day when I don’t get to talk to her, there is a noticeable void in my life, like when you can’t remember if you turned off your hair straightener or not but you can’t get home to check so you just hope for the best… that kind of weird, empty feeling.

We’ve been each other’s maids of honor. She did my make up for my wedding (and her wedding). She has been there for me through every single tough spot of my life since 2001 and I know that no matter what, either one of us would drop everyone and everything to be next to the other person when needed. Because that’s who we are.

We’re best friends.

And we will always, always support one another 300%.

One of my very dear friends, Melissa Collier Gepford, once told me that she believes in soul mates, just not the stupid movie one boy plus one girl soul mate crap. She believes that a soul mate is when your soul finds it match in someone else. You can have multiple soul mates, but it has to be someone who understands you even when you’re not speaking, and who knows you without having to explain yourself. Melissa is one of my soulmates and Tara is like my soul mate twin sister. She’s my human diary.

Tara is smart, passionate, kind, has a great sense of humor (aka she laughs at my jokes and I laugh at hers), warm hearted, talented, and is really good at everything she decides she wants to do. She pushes me to make better life choices, encourages me to be the best version of myself, and always tells me I’m pretty, even when I don’t feel like it. She is one of those rare people who genuinely cares for others and is introspective enough to be able to show incredible amounts of empathy to everyone. I think that everyone needs a Tara in their lives because she makes mine so much more fulfilling. Everyone needs to have someone who loves them as strongly as I love Tara and she loves me. It will change your whole world for the better.

I hope that in 2017 you too find your soul mate. Someone who you can tell LITERALLY everything to without fear of judgement or indiscretion. Having someone else who is the mirror image of you but totally different the greatest thing you can do for yourself.

Who is your best friend? Why are they your best friend? What do you love the very most about them? (If it’s your significant other, fine, but just know that I think that’s cheating and mushy but I get it if that’s who it is :P)

Happy 2017 everyone! I hope this year brings you joy, peace, patience, and a whole lotta love.

 

“If ever there is tomorrow when we’re not together… there is something you must always remember. You are braver than you believe, stronger than you seem, and smarter than you think. But the most important thing is, even if we’re apart… I’ll always be with you.”
– Winnie the Pooh

